Fried Green Tomatoes. Gluten-free!


Fried Green Tomatoes are a definite must on any summer menu, as necessary as corn-on-the-cob or barbecue. I used to make them all the time. But with the discovery that Stephen is gluten intolerant, they hadn’t been even a thought for this summer’s menu. Well, not until my eyes lit on an enormous green tomato at Whole Foods, just the right degree of unripeness. Not only that, it was organic, and as I noted the price for this 2 pound gem ($3.99 a pound), I recalled the sarcastic remark of one of my clever friends: “Some people call it shopping at Whole Paycheck.” Now I knew that if I just went to any of the local vegetable markets in the City, I could get 2 pounds of green tomatoes for 2 bucks. But would I? And that is when the question crossed my mind, “I wonder if it is possible to make gluten-free fried green tomatoes.”

I am here to tell you that it is and share my recipe with you, which is surprisingly simple and satisfyingly loaded with fat. (Read no further if fat scares you.) Here they are cooking away.

fgtomato

I decided to experiment with Bob’s Gluten-Free Biscuit Mix, since I have used that to make oven-fried chicken with great success. And it worked. So here is the recipe:

1 large green tomato, sliced thin
1 egg
3/4 cup of Bob’s Gluten-Free Biscuit Mix
1/2 t. oregano
1/2 t. onion powder
oil for frying (I used grape seed oil)

Beat the egg well with a fork and place in a wide soup bowl. Mix the biscuit mix and spices in another soup bowl. Place about 1/8″ of oil in a frying pan and heat on medium heat until hot. Dip each slice first into egg, shake off extra, place slice in coating mixture and turn twice to cover both sides. Place tomato slice directly into hot oil. I found that a large frying pan would fry 3 slices at a time. There were about 15 slices for this green tomato. Fry until medium brown (about 4 or 5 minutes) then turn and fry the other side until brown (about 2 to 3 minutes). Remove fried slices to a plate with a paper towel to absorb excess oil. Add a small amount of oil if necessary, reheat and fry the next batch, separating each layer with a paper towel. You can keep these hot in a very low oven for about an hour. Correctly prepared fried green tomatoes are somewhat reminiscent in flavor to fried oysters.

Author: Jim Andris

Retired gay married early adopter. Cooking, cleaning, fixing. Makes good music occasionally; U name it. Churchy dude. Likes to think about things, too much, sometimes. Dump Trump. Trying not to do too much harm. Revisiting blogging. Looking for a new handle on things. Exploring genderqueer.