Pat Artrip’s Gluten-Free Black Walnut Zucchini Bread

An unforgettable dessert bread from an old friend.

patartripI had a dear friend from about 1975 to the late 1990s. I met Pat Artrip in group therapy, and we quickly forged a lasting bond. I found this picture of her and me, taken around 1975. You remember the ’70s, disco music, free-wheeling sexual escapades, exploring alternative lifestyles. Pat and I shared our adventures with each other. Later on, she and I joined and faithfully attended a meditation group. Pat also loved to cook, and one day she offered me her recipe for zucchini bread. I have made it many times over the years, and I always think of her when I do.

Pat’s zucchini bread was not gluten-free, but I made it that way by using a gluten-free flour mix that I have. So, first Pat’s recipe, and then the gluten-free flour substitute.

Zucchini black walnut bread1 jumbo or 2 medium eggs
1/2 c. cooking oil
1 c. sugar
1 1/2  t. vanilla
1/2 t. salt
1 c., well-packed, grated, uncooked zucchini
1 3/4 c. flour
3/4 t. soda
1/2 c. chopped black walnuts

Beat eggs and add sugar, oil, zucchini and vanilla. Mix well. Ad salt, flour, soda and nuts. Mix well. Pour into a greased and floured 9 x 5 bread pan and bake 1 hour at 325.

This bread is sweet, but the combination of the black walnuts and zucchini is unbeatable and addicting, especially with a good afternoon tea. You can also easily double the recipe, make two loaves and freeze one.

The gluten-free flour substitute is 3 cups rice flour, 1 cup potato flour, and 1/2 cup tapioca flour. I got it from Marsha.

Author: Jim Andris

Retired gay married early adopter. Cooking, cleaning, fixing. Makes good music occasionally; U name it. Churchy dude. Likes to think about things, too much, sometimes. Dump Trump. Trying not to do too much harm. Revisiting blogging. Looking for a new handle on things. Exploring genderqueer.