Lifting another Manhole Cover to Blogspace

An explanation of Jim’s past for years with iBlog and why he finally moved to wordpress.

I can see that I have my work cut out for me. I’ve been blogging for 4 years using an almost defunct system called iBlog. This was the blog with the somewhat off-putting name Of Course It’s Boring, Idiot. I really had fun with that forum, even if I only attracted one other regular reader in 4 years. For one thing, I made 134 posts in 16 categories with neat names like What in God’s Name for my quasi-theological thoughts. So I found out in retrospect what I was thinking about. But I also had to admit that I wasn’t really blogging in the social sense of the word, because of the low readership. 

Still, I’m not ready to give up whatever this blog-like thing is that I’m doing and have even reflected about on occasion as in the post, Blogging Is Having To Say You’re Sorry for not Blogging. After months, even years of half-hearted searching for an alternative to iBlog, I see that I’m going to need to learn a new system, and it looks like wordpress is it, intimidating as it seems on initial encounter. So I’ve made my start, some links to my old blog, several trips to the wordpress help page, and a sinking feeling that this is initially going to be a lot of work. But I’m hopeful that in a few weeks or months, I will be back to doing what it really is that I love to do—expounding on some topic of interest to my imaginary audience, and waiting, as I’ve always done for the last 70 years, to be discovered. Yes, Mr. DeMille, I HAVE been ready for my close-up for quite a long time, now.

Author: Jim Andris

Retired gay married early adopter. Cooking, cleaning, fixing. Makes good music occasionally; U name it. Churchy dude. Likes to think about things, too much, sometimes. Dump Trump. Trying not to do too much harm. Revisiting blogging. Looking for a new handle on things. Exploring genderqueer.

1 thought on “Lifting another Manhole Cover to Blogspace”

Comments are closed.